Good news for architecture aficionados in Brussels and particularly for the inhabitants of the Madou quartier in Saint Josse commune – iconic “Maison Hayoit” is now protected. On the initiative of Secretary of State for Urbanism and Heritage Pascal Smet, the Brussels government has decided to protect the trading house “Maison Hayoit”, located on Chaussée de Louvain.
It all started in 1898, when Michel Hayoit opened a shop selling household linen. Hayoit quickly developed into a well-known textile company in the city and was awarded in 1921 the title of Belgian Warrant Holder, which is the honour of being an official supplier to the Belgian Court.
In 1927 the architects Fernand Symons and Guillaume Veldeman were commissioned by Michel Hayoit to design the beautiful Art Deco building located on Chaussée de Louvain. This prestigious building became the headquarters of the family-run textile company.
The facade of the building and the commercial spaces on the ground floor and the first floor are now protected by the Brussels-Capital Region.
“Brussels has the potential to become a major architectural city. That’s why we are working on a vibrant, modern architectural scene and why we will be strongly committed to protect and valorise our extensive heritage. Maison Hayoit, full of character, could not be left out of this list,”Brussels Secretary of State for Urbanism and Heritage Pascal Smet (one.brussels).
The building is not only remarkable because of its refined Art Deco finishing but also because of the promotional function of the front facade, which was no less than the business card of the Hayoit firm. Its location on a street corner gives the building great visibility.
Also inside, the building has several beautiful elements, such as the showcases, the monumental staircase and beautiful wooden floors and doors.